Research

Research for an innovative future

The principle of integrating current research results and future-oriented topics into our projects is already deeply ingrained in our company's name - Technisch Wissenschaftlicher Transfer [Technical Scientific Transfer]. With the aim of securing progress today for tomorrow, TWT is involved in numerous national and international research projects. Activities include initiation, management and coordination of consortia, as well as participation in research initiatives.

Our innate drive for improvement aims to stimulate research-based innovations and advance emerging, cutting-edge technologies. Innovation and scientific expertise, coupled with the competence to examine things holistically, have been the cornerstones and driving forces behind TWT's successful research activities since the company was founded.

AINET-Antillas

AINET-Antillas is a sub-project within the European AINET initiative. In various applications, such as Industry 4.0 and connected and autonomous driving, network availability and quality are of utmost importance to implement customer functions properly. AINET-Antillas develops and validates infrastructure elements for applications in highly networked scenarios. Tronis® is to be used for validating automated, connected and autonomous driving functions with regard to network quality; the latter also applies when comparing different network generations.

KoSi

The acronym KoSi stands for Cooperative Autonomous Driving with Safety Guarantees. This project aims to investigate how the challenge of autonomous driving in complex traffic situations can be mastered through cooperative manoeuvre planning. Here, a particular focus is on mixed traffic scenarios, i.e. with autonomous and non-autonomous road users.

newAide

In the newAide project, the partners are researching the use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) methods in highly complex, simulation-based design processes in vehicle development with the aim of accelerating, optimising and partially automating these processes. In addition to improving individual design disciplines through AI approaches, the newAIDE project will use the sub-projects to investigate a fundamental database structure, as well as data structuring that supports and simplifies the use of AI methods in vehicle design. This could provide the base for a widespread introduction of AI approaches in vehicle design and beyond.

ALFRIED

ALFRIED – Automated and Connected Driving in Logistics at the FRIEDrichshafen test field – is intended to serve inner-city goods traffic in the future. The overall concept of the hyper-efficient mobility system consists of several mobility users. The project aims to improve the overall traffic situation, especially of vehicles (both connected and non-connected), intelligent infrastructures and control centres. To this end, various technologies are being developed and prepared for use and deployment in real traffic. In the future, the findings from Friedrichshafen should be highly relevant for other cities and regions.

AUTOAKZEPT

AUTOAKZEPT stands for the elimination of insecurity in understanding human-machine interaction ("Automation Without Insecurity to Increase Acceptance of Automated and Connected Driving"). To improve the user experience, the recommender system selects the most suitable adaptation for the driver with regard to the information provided on the traffic situation or driving style.

LiBAT

LiBAT – Development of a High Voltage Lithium BATtery – aims to develop an ultra-light, highly integrated battery pack for aerospace applications. The LiBAT design meets demanding requirements in terms of weight, energy density and performance and can be used flexibly in various applications. Prior to the LiBAT design being used in electric and hybrid aircraft, prototypical implementations and tests on the ground (TRL4) are being carried out. LiBAT is shaping a new future for aviation.

RABE

RABE – Intelligent Rollator for Inpatient Care to Preserve the Autonomy of Residents and to Relieve the Workload of Caregivers – comprises the development of an intelligent rollator designed to increase the user's autonomy and mobility while relieving the workload of caregivers. This is achieved through a range of functions, such as the "Autonomous Driving" mode, an indoor navigation and a pedelec function. The products developed during the project are being tested in a nursing home run by Stiftung Liebenau.

OPsTIMAL

OPsTIMAL – Optimised Processes for Trajectory, Maintenance, Management of Resources and Airline Operations – aims to optimise aviation operations. Data analysis and predictive maintenance of engines help to track the research on these topics.

AIToC

In the project AIToC – Artificial Intelligence Supported Tool Chain in Manufacturing Engineering – an integrated tool chain for production planning and production systems engineering is being developed to support decision-making at very early stages. This includes the development and adaptation of tools for defining and managing requirements, as well as for creating process plans, equipment models and layouts. For this purpose, a model-based approach is used to define product and production requirements. Tool chain integration focuses on solutions for tool interoperability and plug & play functionality to be flexible in designing the simulation environment. This will have a significant impact on efficiency (cost), quality of models and cycle time for simulations in the industrial context.

iVeSPA

iVeSPA – Integrated Verification, Sensors and Positioning for Aircraft Production – is investigating ways to significantly increase the level of digitisation in today's aircraft production. The current level of process step digitisation is rather low. Insofar as the machines used in the process make their sensor data from the undergone process steps available for further use, isolated solutions will emerge at best. A networking of the machines or central storage for simplified access to all data of the manufacturing processes is not widely implemented.

SMART

Autonomous driving applications place high demands on mobile communications networks, which naturally have varying qualities of service. SMART is investigating virtual Vehicle-to-X (V2X) applications and their resilience in LTE and 5G scenarios. The project developed a mechanism for negotiating the Quality of Service (QoS). Real-time simulations of V2X-based autonomous driving scenarios in the Tronis® 3D virtual environment were also used to evaluate the mechanism's capabilities to predict stochastic QoS guarantees.

RITUAL

While assistive robots are already well developed in terms of function, they are currently often not yet capable of interpreting human emotions and behaviour correctly and of interacting with the user in a way appropriate to the situation. If assistive robots are to enter our private everyday life, they must be enabled to correctly interpret the user's state and the context of use and to adapt their verbal and non-verbal interaction strategy accordingly.

Mathematical Research & Services

Mathematical Research

Scientific engineering and physical questions are often formulated by partial differential equations and solved using the Finite Element Method (FEM). In this method, the given calculation domain is first meshed, i.e. broken down into simple geometric elements, such as triangles or quadrilaterals in case of surface models, or tetrahedra or hexahedra in case of volume models. These elements are used as the basis for defining the solution function, the coefficients of which are to be determined by the FE procedure. Depending on the quality of the resulting mesh, this is followed by a mesh optimisation step, which may be integrated, if applicable, into the mesh generation procedure. Then, taking into account boundary conditions such as loads, fixations, etc., a linear system of equations is set up during the FE simulation process to determine the solution coefficients. Subsequently, the resulting FE system is solved using special numerical methods and the solution of the simulation problem is evaluated.

Forschung für eine innovative Zukunft

Der Grundsatz, aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und zukunftsorientierte Themen aktiv in unsere Projekte zu integrieren, ist bereits in der Namensgebung unseres Unternehmens tief verwurzelt – Technisch Wissenschaftlicher Transfer. Um heute den Fortschritt für morgen zu sichern, sind wir bei TWT in zahlreiche nationale und internationale Forschungsprojekte involviert. Die Aktivitäten umfassen sowohl Initiierung, Management und Koordination von Konsortien, als auch die Teilnahme an Forschungsinitiativen.

Unser angeborener Verbesserungsdrang resultiert in dem Ziel, forschungsbasierte Innovationen anzuregen und neu entstehende, zukunftsweisende Technologien voranzutreiben. Innovation und wissenschaftliche Expertise gepaart mit der Kompetenz, die Dinge ganzheitlich zu betrachten, bilden seit der Firmengründung den Grundstein und den Antrieb für die erfolgreichen Forschungsaktivitäten bei TWT.

AINET-Antillas

AINET-Antillas ist ein Teilprojekt im Rahmen der europäischen Initiative AINET. In verschiedenen Anwendungen wie I4.0 sowie dem vernetzten und autonomen Fahren sind Netzverfügbarkeit und -qualität von größter Bedeutung für die ordnungsgemäße Realisierung von Kundenfunktionen. AINET-Antillas entwickelt und validiert Infrastrukturelemente für Anwendungen in hochvernetzten Szenarien. Tronis® soll für die Validierung von automatisierten, vernetzten und autonomen Fahrfunktionen hinsichtlich der Netzqualität auch im Vergleich verschiedener Netzgenerationen eingesetzt werden.

KoSi

Das Akronym KoSi steht für „Kooperatives Autonomes Fahren mit Sicherheitsgarantien“. In diesem Projekt soll untersucht werden, wie die Herausforderung autonomen Fahrens in komplexen Verkehrssituationen durch kooperative Manöverplanung gemeistert werden kann. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt hier auch auf gemischten Verkehrsszenarien, also mit autonomen und nicht-autonomen Verkehrsteilnehmerinnen und -teilnehmer.

newAide

Im Projekt newAide erforschen die Partner den Einsatz von Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) in hochkomplexen, simulationsbasierten Auslegungsprozessen der Fahrzeugentwicklung mit dem Ziel, diese zu beschleunigen, zu optimieren und teilweise zu automatisieren. Neben der Verbesserung einzelner Auslegungsdisziplinen durch KI-Ansätze soll im Projekt newAIDE mithilfe der Teilprojekte eine grundlege Datenbankstruktur und Datenstrukturierung erforscht werden, die den Einsatz von KI-Methoden in der Fahrzeugauslegung unterstützt und vereinfacht. Dadurch könnte die Basis für eine flächendeckende Einführung von KI-Ansätzen in der Fahrzeugauslegung und darüber hinaus bereitet werden.

ALFRIED

ALFRIED – Automatisiertes und vernetztes Fahren in der Logistik am Testfeld Friedrichshafen, soll in Zukunft dem innenstädtischen Warenverkehr dienen. Das Gesamtkonzept des hypereffizienten Mobilitätssystems besteht aus verschiedenen Mobilitätsteilnehmern. Das Projekt soll die gesamte Verkehrssituation, insbesondere der Fahrzeuge (vernetzte sowie nicht-vernetzte), intelligenter Infrastrukturen und Leitstellen verbessern. Dafür werden verschiedene Technologien entwickelt und für die Nutzung und den Einsatz im Realverkehr vorbereitet. In Zukunft sollen die Erkenntnisse aus Friedrichshafen von hoher Relevanz für andere Städte und Regionen sein.

AUTOAKZEPT

AUTOAKZEPT steht für die Beseitigung von Verstehensunsicherheit bei Mensch-Maschinen-Interaktion (automation without insecurity to increase acceptance of automated and connected driving). Zur Verbesserung der User Experience trifft das Recommender System die Auswahl der am besten geeigneten Anpassung für die Fahrerin und den Fahrer hinsichtlich der dargebotenen Information zur Verkehrssituation oder des Fahrstils.

LiBAT

LiBAT – development of a high voltage LIthium BATtery, hat die Entwicklung eines ultraleichten hochintegrierten Batteriepacks für Anwendungen in der Luftfahrt zum Ziel. Das LiBAT Design erfüllt anspruchsvolle Anforderungen für Gewicht, Energiedichte und Leistung und kann flexibel in verschiedenen Anwendungen eingesetzt werden. Bevor das LiBAT Design in elektrischen und hybriden Flugzeugen benutzt werden kann, werden prototypische Umsetzungen und Tests am Boden (TRL4) durchgeführt. Durch LiBAT entsteht eine neue Zukunft für die Luftfahrt.

RABE

RABE – Intelligenter Rollator für die stationäre Pflege zum Autonomieerhalt der Bewohner und zur Entlastung der Pflegekräfte, umfasst die Entwicklung eines intelligenten Rollators, der die Autonomie und Mobilität der Nutzerin und des Nutzers erhöht und gleichzeitig das Pflegepersonal entlastet. Dies wird durch eine Reihe von Funktionen erreicht, beispielsweise durch den Modus „Autonomes Fahren“, eine Indoor-Navigationsfunktion und eine Pedelec-Funktion. In einer Pflegeeinrichtung der Stiftung Liebenau werden die Projektentwicklungen erprobt.

OPsTIMAL

OPsTIMAL zielt auf die Optimierung des Luftfahrtbetriebs ab (optimized processes for trajectory, maintenance, management of resources, and airline operations). Datenanalyse und Predictive Maintenance von Triebwerken helfen dabei, die Forschung zu verfolgen. Optimierte Prozesse für Trajektorie, Instandhaltung, Management von Ressourcen und Abläufen in der Luftfahrt.

AIToC

Im Projekt AIToC – Artificial Intelligence supported Tool Chain in Manufacturing Engineering, wird eine integrierte Werkzeugkette für die Produktionsplanung und das Engineering von Produktionssystemen entwickelt, die die Entscheidungsfindung bereits in sehr frühen Phasen unterstützt. Dies beinhaltet die Entwicklung und Anpassung von Tools zur Definition und Verwaltung von Anforderungen, sowie zur Erstellung von Prozessplänen, Gerätemodellen und Layouts. Dafür wird ein modellbasierter Ansatz zur Definition der Produkt- und Produktionsanforderungen verwendet. Die Integration der Werkzeugkette konzentriert sich auf Lösungen für die Interoperabilität von Tools und Plug & Play-Funktionen, um in der Gestaltung der Simulationsumgebung flexibel zu sein. Dies wird erhebliche Auswirkungen auf die Effizienz (Kosten), die Qualität der Modelle und die Durchlaufzeit für Simulationen im industriellen Kontext haben.

iVeSPA

iVeSPA (Integrated Verification, Sensors, and Positioning for Aircraft production) untersucht Möglichkeiten zur signifikanten Erhöhung des Digitalisierungsgrades innerhalb der heutigen Flugzeugfertigung. Der aktuelle Grad der Digitalisierung von Prozessschritten ist nicht sehr hoch. Falls die dort verwendeten Maschinen innerhalb der absolvierten Prozessschritte ihre Sensordaten zur weiteren Verwendung bereitstellen, handelt es sich allenfalls um Insellösungen. Eine verbreitete Vernetzung der Maschinen oder die zentrale Speicherung für einen vereinfachten Zugriff auf alle Daten der Fertigungsprozesse liegt nicht vor.

SMART

„Simulation of mobile networks and automotive behavior in realtime“ – Autonome Fahrapplikationen stellen hohe Anforderungen an die Mobilfunknetze, die naturgemäß variierende Dienstgüten aufweisen. SMART untersucht virtuell Vehicle-to-X (V2X) Anwendungen und wie belastbar diese in LTE und 5G Szenarien sind. Im Rahmen des Projekts wurde ein Mechanismus zur Aushandlung der Dienstgüte entwickelt. Außerdem wurden Echtzeitsimulationen von V2X-basierten autonomen Fahrszenarien in der virtuellen 3D-Umgebung Tronis® eingesetzt, um die Fähigkeiten des Mechanismus, stochastische Garantien der Dienstgüte vorherzusagen, zu evaluieren.

RITUAL

Während Assistenzroboter funktionell bereits gut entwickelt sind, gelingt es ihnen derzeit oft noch nicht, menschliche Emotionen und Verhalten richtig zu interpretieren und somit situationsgerecht mit der Nutzerin und dem Nutzer zu interagieren. Wenn Assistenzroboter in unseren privaten Alltag einziehen sollen, müssen sie in der Lage sein, den Nutzerzustand und Nutzungskontext richtig zu deuten und ihre verbale und nonverbale Interaktionsstrategie darauf abzustimmen.

Mathematical Research & Services

Mathematical Research

Ingenieurwissenschaftliche und physikalische Fragestellungen werden häufig durch partielle Differentialgleichungen formuliert und mittels der Finiten-Elemente-Methode (FEM) gelöst. Bei dieser Methode wird zunächst das vorgegebene Berechnungsgebiet vernetzt, d.h. in einfache geometrische Elemente zerlegt, wie etwa Dreiecke bzw. Vierecke im Fall von Oberflächenmodellen oder Tetraeder bzw. Hexaeder im Fall von Volumenmodellen. Diese Elemente dienen als Grundlage für die Definition der Lösungsfunktion, deren Koeffizienten durch das FE-Verfahren zu bestimmen sind. Je nach Güte des resultierenden Netzes schließt sich daran ein Netzoptimierungsschritt, der ggf. auch in das Netzgenerierungsverfahrens integriert sein kann. Danach wird unter Einbeziehung von Randbedingungen wie beispielsweise Lasten, Fixierungen, etc. im FE-Simulationsprozess ein lineares Gleichungssystem zur Bestimmung der Lösungskoeffizienten aufgestellt. Im Anschluss wird das resultierende FE-System mit speziellen numerischen Methoden gelöst und die Lösung des Simulationsproblems ausgewertet.